Scrumptious Scones

Scone recipes are noticeably absent from most vegan cookbooks, and I’m not altogether sure why.  Do vegans not like scones?  Doubtful — I’m a vegan, and I adore them! But I suppose I can’t exactly call that reliable evidence, since I am but one lil’ vegan in a growing sea of vegans. In any case, here’s my favorite recipe for cranberry-lemon scones. It’ll make about 12 small scones if you divide the dough into 2 discs (see below). Based on my experience, they disappear very quickly.

Delectable to the last crumb... This version was made with raisins as well as cranberries. Yep, I'm that risqué.

So for this recipe I was listening to Stand By Me by Marvin Gaye. A total classic that’ll get you swayin’ and singin’ along in no time.

  • 1 cup unbleached white flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp organic sugar cane
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup wheat germ
  • 1/2 cup vegan “butter” — my absolute favorite is EarthBalance’s… I could almost eat it with a spoon. Almost.
  • 1/3 cup soy milk
  • 1 tsp egg replacer mixed into 2 tbsp warm water (I tend to use Kingsmill egg replacer, which is mostly potato starch. But there are lots of different things you can use as egg replacers depending on what you’re making.)
  • 3 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 cup dried cranberries — you can also use diced apricots, pineapple, raisins, mango, papaya, etc…. or fresh fruit, but then I’d half the amount otherwise you’ll get some mighty soggy scones

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F, and mix the first 6 dry ingredients together. Once they are well mixed, cut in the butter with a fork or, better yet, a dough blender. These are nifty hand-held obliterators of butter or shortening, with their 5-6 metal slats evenly spaced in a loop under the handle. They make short of work cutting butter into dry ingredients, and I recommend getting your hands on one if you do any amount of baking. But I digress…

Cut the butter into the dry ingredients until the chunks are roughly pea-sized. Now it’s time to add the wet ingredients. Work your way down the list until you’ve got everything in and well mixed. It’ll look pretty dry and flaky until you get in there with your hands and start kneading (wash your hands first!). Knead the dough until you can get it into a ball.

Now you have a choice: either create 1 big ball, or divide the dough in half and make 2 balls of dough. Squish these balls into discs, and play around with them so that they’re about an inch thick (yes I’m Canadian and I’m supposed to use the metric system, but somehow I turned into this hybrid who uses inches, pounds and meters, which is confusing to say the least). Place your disc(s) on a baking sheet and score them like you would cut a pie, though only halfway through the dough. This will make it easier to divide up your scones, and will ensure they’ll cook evenly. Pop them in the oven for 13-15 minutes depending on whether you made 1 or 2 discs, or until they turn golden on top. Serve with a bit of butter or jam — but really they’re so good you should just love them the way they are.  Tuck in and enjoy!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. T.J.Blinn says:

    Thanks for the recipe. I tried the scones and they turned out good, not great. Of course, I altered the ingredients since I am a carnivore: used buttermilk (Korea doesn’t believe in Soy products) and also converted to real butter. I think that was the problem though because to be properly called a scone it must be dry and bland – much like British comedy. It’s purpose, I’m told by a British friend, is to be the receptical of butter or jam and should thus not be too flavorful.

    Well, to the vegans reading this blog, heed my warning, us carnivores make a right mess of everything. This recipe was good as is, further confirming the old adage: “if it ain’t broke…”

    Thx Lil’ Vegan, next time I’ll try following the recipe:)

    1. lil' vegan says:

      Haha thanks TJ – glad to hear the feedback! Looking at the photo I posted, I’d suggest not flattening them as much. They were more like thick wafers than scones. Jeez, I guess that means I’ll have to make them again and re-shoot them… Then eat them. Oh woe is me. 😉

Leave a Reply

