Ragin’ Cajun Roasted Chickpeas

… Or “RCs” for people in the know. This recipe is fine is you half the quantities as well — I just like making 2 cans worth at a time because I use them in everything once I’ve made them: salad toppers, movie snacks, quick snack before  a run, etc. They store well in a Tupperware in the fridge, but I suggest you zap them in the toaster oven before using them if you want them to be at their peak deliciousness. But I’m not terribly picky when it comes to these guys, and routinely munch them straight from the fridge.  I warn you, these little guys are highly addictive and notoriously difficult to “save for later”.

I'm drooling just looking at these little guys -- delicious and highly nutritious!

You’ll need the following ingredients, as well as Rae Spoon‘s Superior You Are Inferior album:

  • 2 cans chickpeas, drained and well-rinsed (you can use red kidney beans and/or black beans, but the consistency isn’t as nice as a chickpea’s when they’re roasted. They’re a little starchier and tend to explode like popcorn all over the oven. I’m still finding the occasional one and I can’t remember the last time I used kidney beans for this recipe… Maybe I should do a better job of cleaning my oven.)
  • 1 tbsp sunflower oil (always keep sunflower oil in the fridge — ditto goes for roasted sesame oil, safflower oil, coconut oil and any of the nut oils)
  • 2 tsp Zatarain’s creole spice (or any other creole spice with a pinch of salt, because so far I’ve only found Zatarain’s across the border in the US)
  • 0.5 tsp garlic powder

Variations:

  • Replace creole spice with tamari and lime juice (0.5 tsp of both)
  • Replace creole spice with sea salt and pepper (0.5 tsp of both), and replace garlic powder with lime juice
  • Insert your variation here by sending me some feedback on your favorites!

Preheat oven to 425F. Toss all ingredients in a bowl and ensure that the chickpeas are well-coated. Dump onto baking sheet and toss in the oven for at least 40 minutes, taking them out and turning them / shaking the pan after about 20 minutes and again about 5 minutes before you take them out.  They’re ready once they’re nice and dark brownish and pop crisply in your mouth.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Jannette says:

    Hi there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that
    would be ok. I’m absolutely enjoying your blog and look forward to
    new posts.

    1. lil' vegan says:

      Hi Janette! I’m so glad you like my site. I’ll admit to being a completely negligent blogster this year, though I hope to restart posting once we make the move to the UK (so excited!). I am on Twitter, though it’s not always related to food. Hit me up @HudsonMarieAnne.

Leave a Reply

