Dragon Sauce

This gravy is great warm or cold. Really, when I have a batch handy I put it on everything under the sun (well ok, maybe not fruit or sweet stuff, but everything else is fair game). I snatched and tweaked this particular recipe from the refresh cookbook that my sis gave me for Christmas. I’ll likely be posting my own versions soon too, but I wanted to get this up to go with the Dragon Bowl recipe I just posted. The problem with my versions is that they’re still in my head without any measurements (I tend to just toss stuff in and taste as I go), which is not terribly helpful to any of you. But stay tuned or suggest your own variations, because there are a million ways to tweak this sauce to suit your own personal tastes. It’s so quick to make that you won’t even have time to hear a whole song, so I suggest something short like Hello Tomorrow by Karen O.

Ingredients:

  • 4 tbsp flour
  • 1/4 tsp garlic paste
  • 3/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1.5 cups veggie broth
  • 1/4 cup sunflower oil
  • 1 tsp roasted sesame oil
  • 1.5 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 3 tbsp light miso (2 tbsp if it’s dark miso)
  • 3/4 tsp sea salt (optional)

Toss all the dry ingredients except the salt into a small pot over low heat. Whisk in the veggie broth to make a paste. Get it up to a boil and simmer it for about 30 seconds. Add the oils, mustard, miso and salt to the pot. Whisk, whisk, whisk until smooth and thick-ish. Done like dinner.

Leave a Reply

