Creamy “Cheese” Sauce

This sauce is super easy to make and is surprisingly versatile. Serve over steamed veggies (shown below) to jazz-up a side dish, or use as a sauce base to serve over pasta by adding veggies and bite-size pieces of sautéed fikken. If you choose the latter, add a bit more water after combining the sauce, veggies and fikken to prevent the sauce from over-thickening. But I’ve gotten ahead of myself!  It’s been so long since my last post that I’ve apparently forgotten my writing formula. No matter, let’s stick on some tunes — something to warm us on this cold, rainy day (at least where I am): Nina Simone‘s greatest hits should do the trick.

Smooth and silky, this sauce is a great way to add warmth on a cold day.

In a small saucepan (a.k.a. pot) over low heat, whisk together these ingredients until you’ve got a crumbly mixture:

  • 4 tbsp flour
  • 2 tbsp EarthBalance veggie butter (I love EarthBalance)

Now slowly drizzle in 1.5 cups soy milk, whisking continuously.  Once the mixture is smooth (a.k.a. non-lumpy), increase the heat a little to medium-high and mix in:

  •  3 tbsp nutritional yeast (powder or flakes, though the flakes will need a little elbow grease to break up)
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp mustard powder
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup grated “cheese” (optional, see the note at the end of the recipe)

Cook for about 3-5 minutes, whisking every minute or so. Once the sauce has thickened to your liking, check the salt and pepper levels and adjust as needed, then serve!

A quick note about “cheese”. There are many brands of fake cheese on the market, and most of them are either awful or have casein in them, which ain’t vegan. So far I’ve only found one brand that I love that has the added bonus of melting, which may seem like a weird characteristic to boast about, but most vegan cheeses just don’t melt, which kind of gives me the creeps. Anyway, Earth Island‘s Monterey Jack flavour is great. No, it doesn’t taste like Monterey Jack, or like any cheese I’ve ever tasted, but I love the taste and the texture is tolerable. I’ve heard about Daiya cheese and have read rave reviews (we vegans are a passionate bunch when it comes to cheese replacements, because let’s face it: pizza and lasagna are awesome), but I haven’t tried it yet (I’m counting down the days until I “get me some”). But no matter the product, the trick with most “replacement” foods is not to expect it to taste like the non-vegan version it’s supposed to be replacing, but just to enjoy it for what it is: a cruelty-free food that tastes great and leaves your conscience clear.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Pingback: Squash Lasagna

Leave a Reply

