Duke of Earl Cupcakes

It’s not so far-fetched to pair up Earl Grey tea and cupcakes, but you don’t normally see them blended together! These cupcakes are exotic and delicious. This recipe was adapted from an article I saw in the newspaper, which showcased Auntie Loo’s treats, a new vegan bakery in Ottawa. You can bet I’ll be making my way there ASAP to satisfy my sweet tooth. I figured if Auntie Loo gave out her recipe for a couple of newspapers, then she wouldn’t mind me nabbing it, tweaking it and posting it here, right Auntie Loo? I have to admit that I switched to my favourite frosting because I’m addicted to it. Of course, you’ll need to listen to Duke of Earl, by Gene Chandler.

One of my all-time favorite desserts. Thanks Auntie Loo!

Gather up the following ingredients:

  • 1 cup organic sugar
  • 1 cup unbleached white flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tbsp Earl Grey tea (or the contents of 4 tea bags; grind in a spice mill until fine and powdery – don’t inhale!)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/3 cup sunflower oil
  • 2 tbsp fresh lemon juice (or half a lemon, juiced, but zest the lemon first for the frosting!)

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. Line 12 muffin tins with paper liners (or oil the tins, but liners are great). Combine all dry ingredients together. Add all the wet ingredients except for the lemon juice and stir it until just combined. Then add the lemon juice and stir until the mixture is light and frothy. Pour the batter into each cup then toss them into the oven for 20-25 minutes. Once a toothpick comes out clean, let them cool and then remove them from the tins. Make sure they’re completely cool before icing them with Lemon Buttercream Frosting.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Lindsay MacDonald says:

    I made your earl grey cupcakes today in N.B with the lemon frosting… yummmmmmmmmmmmmm
    Miss ya!

  2. lil' vegan says:

    Nice! I’m whipping up something I think you’d like today: no bake vanilla orange custard tartlets! And trying my hand at daikon radish chips. The jury’s still out on those…
    Miss you too! I think you should come home right now… and bring the cupcakes 🙂

Leave a Reply

