Ginger Molasses Quinoa Cookies

This is the last recipe in the series “Stuff I made with my mum on one Sunday evening”. It comes from one of her many cookbooks and has been tweaked pretty substantially, so there’s not much point indicating which cookbook it was (plus I’ve forgotten the name of it, though it had something to do with quinoa). Unfortunately, I don’t have too much time to dilly-dally since home renovations are now consuming my spare/cheffing-and-blogging time (as well as my non-spare time which is supposed to be productive, but hey, it’s gotta get done), so let’s get this recipe started. I hope my kitchen will always smell as awesome as it did when we made these puppies.

These healthy and hearty cookies are light as air coming out of the oven.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup Earth Balance veggie butter
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tsp egg replacer + 2 tbsp warm water, well mixed
  • 1/4 cup fancy molasses
  • 1 cup quinoa flour
  • 1 cup all-purpose unbleached flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/4 cup organic sugar

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Mix the “butter” and brown sugar in a large bowl. Beat in the egg replacer and molasses (tip from me to you: rub a bit of oil in the measuring cup before pouring in your molasses so that it’ll come out easier).  Set aside.

Mix the flour, baking soda, salt, ginger, cinnamon and cloves in a medium bowl and blend well. Add the butter mixture to the flour mixture until a smooth dough forms. Roll the dough into 1.5-inch balls. Place the sugar in a shallow bowl and roll each ball to coat. Place 2 inches apart on a baking sheet and bake on the centre oven rack for 8-10 minutes. The cookies should be light and puffy and slightly browned on the bottom when you remove them from the pan. Let them cool for a minute before moving them to a cooling rack.

Store all leftovers in the fridge in a sealed container for 1 week or 4 weeks in the freezer – if they last that long that is.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. lil'bloodmouth says:

    Recipe request: I picked up a 2 cup tub of red miso because I needed about a tablespoon for a recipe. Any suggestions for using up the rest? Also, any idea how long it’ll keep in the fridge?

  2. lil' vegan says:

    I’m surprised you had to buy such a huge tub! I usually get it in little 1 cuppers, if that. The upshot is that miso lasts forever (and if not forever, for a LONG time in the fridge). My favourite thing to do with it is of course make soup, which can be made in many surprisingly different ways. You can also use it as a pasty marinade, combined with water, some peppercorns and a touch of rice vinegar. Slather that over some tofu and look out taste buds! Just watch out since it can get really salty, really fast. Once I get the house renovations under control and back into the blogosphere I’ll post a couple of recipes featuring miso.

    Thanks for posting! Hugs to lil’ Henry and Madame M (you too I suppose) 😉

  3. David Emmett says:

    Dear lil’ vegan,

    I only recently came across your site and am really loving the recipes. Personally, I am vegetarian but very partial to the occasional vegan meal and so it’s great to have such a focused, active site to read for ideas. Both as practice for when I have my vegan friends over and maybe encouraging me to go the next step.

    Anyway, so hopefully you don’t mind but I posted your cookies on The Write Effect telling people where they can come for more.

    Look forward to reading more.

    Regards,
    David Emmett

    1. lil' vegan says:

      Sure thing David, I’m so glad you’re enjoying my site! I’ve been quite the delinquent of late, but I’m going to try to get back in the saddle again soon. Fresh spring soups and summer salads are just around the corner!

Leave a Reply

