Foodie Heaven on a Sunday Morning

I’m slowly emerging from my “new-“house-in-a-new-city shell, “new” indicating that our home is far from being new. We’ve spent the last month doing extensive renovations (well, extensive for us anyway… I’m sure Mike Holmes could do it with his eyes closed and one of his massive mitts tied behind his back). After a month of take-out and barely-there meals, I’m looking forward to cheffing again more than I can express in mere words.

My renewed foray into blogging will be a short one. I’m about to sit down to a delightfully decadent Sunday morning meal: fried cajun potatoes, scrambled tofu, breakfast links and a big honking cup of coffee. This is one of the meals that sends me straight up to foodie heaven, not only because it’s delicious and out of the ordinary (we try not to eat fatty food to often for obvious reasons), but because it was one of the first vegan dishes I was taught. My “vegentor”, or vegan mentor, taught me to make sliced fried cajun potatoes with scrambled tofu way back when I first became vegan, and making the dish always makes me think of her. We now live in different provinces and see each other only rarely, but whenever I make this dish it makes me feel close to her despite the distance.

I’d like to ask you all what your idea of foodie heaven is – is it a particular dish associated with a memory or a person, or is it an entire realm of recipes that you simply live without? Let’s get interactive folks! I’m waiting with baited breath.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Sheldon says:

    On a lazy Sunday morning nothing tastes better than toutons smothered in molasses.

    … those potatoes were awesome though!

    1. lil' vegan says:

      For those of you haven’t been lucky enough to have eaten toutins, prepare yourselves… A recipe is in the works. For now, learn about them here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toutin

      Thanks Sheldon!

  2. Tricia says:

    vegentor? awwwwww. you should call her! she sounds great and it sounds like you miss her. i’m sure she misses you too. and i’m sure she just loved your new word! πŸ™‚ she’s your “vegentor”. i’m sure she’s so touched by that. and that you were thinking about her and blogged about her while making and eating her fave breakfast (that she hasn’t had in over 2 years – working on it though).

    1. lil' vegan says:

      I’m so happy you like it! Here’s hoping you get some of those potatoes soon πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

