Sweet’n’hot Sesame Strips

I thought I’d acquainted myself with my “new” oven (it’s new to me… I think the last time it was actually classified as “new” was in 1955) but then I burnt the pants off my nori strips. As I tossed them into the great compost bin in the sky, I thought about how I could use up the rest of the schmear I’d whipped up, since I refuse to waste anything (cracks about burning and tossing the first batch need not apply). So I hit “play” on my iPhone, grooved out to a hodge-podge of music I haven’t listened to in a dog’s age and let my mind wander. I highly recommend dredging through old files every once in a while, because you’ll find yourself drifting back to the last time you listened to a given song as you cook your way through a recipe. Anyway, it hit me – why not use rice papers instead of nori (which I’d run out of)?

These sassy sesame strips will be snapped up in no time!

Anyway, on to the recipe. This is a quick and nifty recipe for oo-lah-lah crackers. Make sure you double or triple the recipe if you’re making these for a group, because they’ll go like hotcakes.

Whisk together the following ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup brown rice syrup
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • pinch of cayenne pepper
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 cup toasted sesame seeds
  • 4 nori sheets or rehydrated rice papers

Preheat your oven to 300 degrees F and get a large baking sheet ready with parchment paper. Whisk the rice syrup and oil together in bowl and then add the cayenne pepper and salt. Toast the sesame seeds in a dry pan until fragrant. Run the rice papers under warm water until they’re soft. Cut the nori and/or rice papers into 1-2 inch strips. Use a pastry brush to paint each strip with a thick coat of the syrup mixture. Sprinkle liberally with the toasted sesame seeds.

Place the strips on the parchment-covered baking sheet and bake for 8 minutes. Keep an eye on it to ensure you don’t burn the syrup! Take them out of the oven, let them sit for a sec then flip them and smear the rest of the syrup over them. Sprinkle with the rest of the sesame seeds and toss them back in the oven for another 5-8 minutes. Set them aside for a few minutes to let them crisp up, then either break them into smaller pieces or leave them as is. Serve!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Helena says:

    Sounds delicious and looks good too!

Leave a Reply

