Nuked Fruit: it’s Fantabulous

I’ve been made stewed fruit on and off for the better part of 20 years now, and I’m sure I was eating it before that if my Mom had anything to do with it. I get a craving every time I think of my Grandpa on my Mom’s side. He loved his stewed fruit. I’m sure most people think of old folks when they think of stewed fruit, but I’m here to let you know that stewed fruit ain’t just for Grandpas with digestive issues. There are many ways to make it: 1) throw a bunch of dried fruit into a pot with some cinnamon, water and a bit of brown sugar and let it simmer for a while until everything turns soft (standard issue stewed fruit), 2) same as 1 but nuke it in a covered bowl for a few minutes to cut out the waiting time (fast-food stewed fruit), or 3) go nuts and stew fruit inside another stewed fruit (my nicer, less icky version of a TurDukken [no, I’m not linking to one, it’s that icky]).

The best part is it’s super easy, super versatile, satisfies even the hardiest sugar craving, and is, of course, healthy(ish). I was so excited about how yummy it was when I made it for the first time last night (normally I just make it with raisins) that I was willing to commit food blog sacrilege to share it with you – I was going to post without a picture. Luckily, I came to my senses and thought, gee, if it’s so easy and healthy, why don’t I just make another fantabulous frapple for dessert tonight? And I did. Oh, did I mention that I’ve decided to call it a frapple? Fruit + Apple = Frapple. Strap on your feed bag, because here it comes – this will literally take you less than 5 minutes, and 3-4 minutes of that is cooking time.

I think my Grandpa would have approved; at the very least he would have said, with just the hint of a twinkle: “I’m eating it, aren’t I?”

I don’t normally “stage” my food, but I had to make an exception in this case. I’d suggest that if you’re making this for guests, that you do exactly what I did to get your frapple to look like this. After you pull it from the microwave, grab some tongs, pull out your frapple and re-plate it, because the bowl it got cooked it will look like a bomb went off inside it. Then spoon the ejected fruit back into the core and pour the sauce over top. Instant adorable frapple.

You’ll need:

  • 1 apple per person, washed and cored (skin left on)
  • about 1/4 cup of frozen fruit per person (my fave is the strawberry, blackberry, raspberry, blueberry mix; fresh fruit is obviously fine but a bit of a waste of fresh fruit)
  • 1 “glug” of maple syrup per person (about 1-2 tbsp depending on your sweet tooth; agave is fine too, but I’d use a little less because it’s mega sweet; brown sugar is also fine but then you’ll need to add the equivalent amount of water)
  • sprinkling of currants, raisins or some other dried fruit (currants work best I find because they’re little and work their way between the other fruit)
  • depending on how saucey you like your frapple, feel free to add a sprinkling of water or even lemon juice, but the frozen fruit will release some water, don’t you worry
  • spices are optional but delicious: try a sprinkle of cinnamon if you want warm and familiar, nutmeg and cardamom if you want a little edgey, and Chinese five spice if you really want to go nuts

Place your cored apple into a fairly deep microwavable bowl, preferably one with some sort of lid. Otherwise be prepared to have your microwave smelling like raspberries for a week. Trust me, this gets M-E-S-S-Y. Stuff about half of the frozen fruit into the centre of the apple, then add about half the currants (or whatever dried fruit you’re using). Then add the rest of the frozen fruit and the rest of the dried fruit. It really doesn’t matter if you get the fruit all over the place, as long as it’s in the bowl. It’ll go all over the place anyway once it’s cooking. Then glug the maple syrup over the top, making sure you get some down the middle. If you’re not in the mood for so much sweetness, then just use water – it’ll be plenty sweet.

Now toss your frapple into the microwave and nuke it on full power for 2-4 minutes, depending on how al dente you want your apple to be. I like 3 minutes because the frapple still stands, but it’s soft enough to go at it with a spoon. Be careful when taking it out of the microwave – you are holding one of the hottest things on earth, so don’t eat it right away! Let it stand for at least a few minutes before digging in. It settles into its juices better that way anyway…

….Ok, it should be safe now, dig in. It’s best warm, in my opinion, but you may like it cold too. Never know until you try. Frapple away!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Helena says:

    Grampa would be proud! Frapple is a great term!

Leave a Reply

