Damn Good Daikon… Chips

So a lot has happened this week. The bottom element in my oven broke (the stove is older than I am), making baking a challenge, and I’ve decided to cut out carbs – or at least minimize them to the nth degree. WHAAAAAT?! You say? Yep, you read it right. Me, the scone and pasta queen, is going carb-“free”. Obviously I can’t be as carb-free as someone who eats meat, but with some careful label reading and consideration, it’s not half bad. And it’s made me think about all sorts of new recipes, which you will now benefit from (hopefully).

This recipe is a direct result of the two aforementioned major occurrences. Because crackers and other snacky things are now off the menu – at least for the next little while, I had to find something that would satisfy both my mid-afternoon salt cravings and my no-carb rule. It would also have to be something that I could broil since baking is pretty well off the menu (unless it’s a minute quantity which I can fit into my toaster oven). I never realized how much I baked until the oven broke. Kijiji, here we come (we plan on doing a huge kitchen reno in the next few years so there’s no point in buying the beautiful natural gas stove that I desperately want just yet… It’ll come though.). Hopefully my next post will rejoice in the loveliness that is baking.

Anyway, enter the noble daikon radish. I figured hey, if you can make chips out of potatoes, why can’t you make chips out of daikon? Turns out it’s not quite the same. As you can imagine, starch places a prominent role in a chip’s delicious crispness. But daikon chips are pretty darn tasty. So go out and grab a daikon (it looks like a radish and a parsnip had a baby; long white parsnip-shaped root with the top of a radish), and within 20 minutes, you’ll have daikon chips. Just don’t get stuck in traffic because you’ll make a liar out of me.

You’ll never feel as virtuous while eating “chips” as you will with these puppies.

Ingredients:

  • 1 daikon radish
  • 1 tsp canola oil
  • 1 tbsp roasted sesame oil
  • 1 tsp rice vinegar
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce or tamari
  • 1/4 tsp sriracha (optional – only if you want spicy chips)
  • sea salt and black pepper to taste

Peel and slice the radish on a mandolin, or just do your best to cut really thin slices. Pat them with a paper towel to dry them off. Combine the rest of the ingredients in a small bowl and drizzle it over the radish. Toss lightly then layer the radish on a large baking sheet in a single layer. Put it under the broiler for about 10-15 minutes and keep an eye on it! I experimented with 1 sheet right up near the broiler and another one (once the first one was done) lower down. I think the lower one is safer, because once they start to brown, they turn FAST. You want them golden brown, not black. The other option is to set the broiler to low (which my archaic stove won’t allow), or set your oven to about 400 degrees and roast them like I would if my oven was working. When done, remove the sheet from the oven, toss the radish slices into some paper towel to remove the excess oil and then dust with sea salt and pepper to taste. I’d eat them immediately because they’ll tend to soften a little as they cool. In the end, they won’t crisp up exactly like chips, but they’re still really delicious and probably a bazillion times better for you.

Oh, feel free to snack on the radish while you’re working –  it’s delicious raw as well. In fact, here’s an option: use the serrated blade on your mandolin to shred the radish for a nice summer salad (but if you do that omit the canola oil and half the sesame oil). Daikon has a much softer flavour than its pink-bottomed cousin, so you don’t have to worry about a daikon-only salad being too horseradishy/spicy. Enjoy!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. emmycooks says:

    Great idea! I like turnip chips too, and this reminds me to try radish chips, maybe with the nice big bunch I got today!

    1. lil' vegan says:

      Ooo let me know how they turn out! They’d be nice and spicy – perfect for a salad topping (aka low-cal croutons with a zip).

  2. Helena says:

    sounds delicious. good luck on the carb reduction from rainy cool Stockholm!

    1. lil' vegan says:

      Thanks, so far so good!

  3. Allison says:

    These sound great. (I also loved that you referred to “the noble daikon radish”!)

    1. lil' vegan says:

      They really are delicious. I maintain that any vegetable can be made into a crispy yet healthy chip. The key is the find the right cut and right combo of spices. Aaaaand now I’m off to make some – I just talked myself into it. 🙂

  4. Danielle says:

    I have tried these and zucchini chips. They are either burned and soggy or just soggy. I don’t get it.

    1. lil' vegan says:

      Hi Danielle,

      Sorry to hear they’re giving you trouble! Try lowering your oven’s temperature. Your oven may burn hotter than mine. In terms of the sogginess, it may be a number of different issues. It may be that your veggies are too wet, so try paper-towel-patting the chips before you put them in the oven. You may be using a little too much oil, or you may be over-crowding the pan. Both of these can cause sogginess. One last thing you can try is actually pre-heating the tray with the oil in it, then putting the veggie chips on and putting it back in the oven. By pre-heating the oil, you can get a nice crisp finish on the underside (well, hopefully anyway). I hope this helps. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

