Chocolate Mousse Torte, or Broken Oven With a Twist

There isn’t going to be much preamble on this one for two reasons: 1) this share is WAY overdue and needs posting ASAP, and 2) I’ve already told you all about my oven woes in my last post. Luckily those dreary oven-less days are behind me thanks to Kijiji. I still have a few amazing recipes in my back pocket from those dark days though, so stay posted. I just have to find the time to write them up with the gusto they so deserve.

I’m getting off easy on this one since the original recipe isn’t my own! I’d like to thank OhSheGlows for this phenomenal recipe. I’ve tweaked it oh-so-very slightly to ooomph the chocolate taste a little, which should allow you to use fewer chocolate chips (if you’re feeling virtuous). But the beauty of this torte is that it packs a great chocolate punch in a very small bite, so your dessert craving will be satisfied with smaller quantities that aren’t all that unhealthy to start with! Win-win, I think.

In my next post I’ll be showing how to turn this tart into tartlets using a muffin tin. Spoiler-alert, it’s so easy I’ve pretty well already explained it. Feel free to take this recipe and turn it into 6 tartlets as well. I’d also suggest topping the torte (or tartlets) with blueberries, raspberries, blackberries or maybe plums with a dusting of icing sugar. They’re all great combinations (yes, I’ve tried them all over the past week as I’ve eaten my way through this tart).

A delicious chocolate avocado mousse torte produced without one watt of baking. Now that’s a great summer dessert! Antler sold separately.

For the crust, toss the following ingredients into a food processor and whiizzzzzzzz until everything is mixed together (but not puréed):

  • 2 cups pecans, walnuts or cashews (pre-chopped a little so that they’re the size of small peas – this will ensure they don’t break down too much while you’re whirring the rest of the ingredients in). Yes, I used salted roasted cashews and it was unbelievable. Just make sure you leave out the salt if you try this substitution.
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup or agave
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt

Now, spread a tiny bit of coconut oil on a 7-10 inch springform or regular glass pie pan and line it with a circle of parchment paper (or not – I didn’t and my torte still came out fine). Scoop your crust mixture onto your prepared pan and press down firmly and evenly with slightly wet fingers or a spatula. Pop it into your freezer to set while you’re making the mousse.

For the chocolate mousse, wipe out your food processor and toss in the following ingredients:

  • 2 cups avocado flesh (about 2 avocados), pitted and scooped out. No I’m not kidding. Truly lovely texture and no one will ever guess the secret ingredient – even if they’re not 100% ripe (trust me)
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 2/3 cup maple syrup or agave
  • 3 tbsp smooth peanut butter (I’ve also used a mix of PB and cashew butter with yummy results)
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder, sifted if clumpy

Now mix the following ingredients in a small bowl, making sure the arrowroot is dissolved in the coffee, then pour into the processor. I’ve found that this is a really forgiving recipe – it allows substitutions and slight variations in measurements, so don’t be afraid if you don’t have quite enough of one thing or another. Just taste as you go along to ensure that the flavour is ok, adjusting it as required.

  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tbsp arrowroot powder
  • 1/4 cup espresso

Now add the chocolate chips and blend until mixed.

  • 1 to 1.5 cups chocolate chips, melted. I found that if you half-melt the chips, you get little crunchy chocolate bites in the mousse, which was actually pretty pleasant. But if you want to go smooth, make sure the chips are fully melted before you incorporate them into the mousse.

Your crust should be pretty firm by now. Take it out from freezer and scoop the mousse mixture into the pie pan on top of crust. Smooth it out as much as possible and then place it in the freezer for 2 hours to firm. Once firm, take it out and let it sit on the counter for about 5-10 minutes before serving it. It won’t have the full chocolately flavour if you serve it frozen. Keep the torte in the freezer if there are any leftovers, or in the fridge if you don’t mind it a little softer. This is why it pays to keep the fruit topping separate – frozen fruit isn’t as tasty. I hope you enjoy this as much as I did, and will join me in thanking Angela Liddon for such a great recipe!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Looks absolutely delicious! I would so love to try some. I am sure it tastes amazing. Loving that frosting.

    1. lil' vegan says:

      Thanks! It’s not so much frosting as the ENTIRE pie – that’s what makes this so scrumptious 🙂

Leave a Reply

