Millet Tartlets (or Perfect 10 Tartlets)

If any of you are wondering if I’m still on the low-carb-no-wheat-still-vegan bandwagon, the answer is yessir. Sure it takes a little more thought, but it’s certainly been a fun, eye-opening experience so far. Here I was, naively thinking that I knew all about the weirdest, most obscure ingredients, but no. I’ve apparently had blinders on my entire life! I’ve learned so much about how to cook delicious, satisfying food with the most basic (yet relatively underused) ingredients – I can’t wait to try out my next recipe… But first to this recipe! This one’s sort of a mash-up of a bunch of different recipes, and it turned out really yummy and refreshing – perfect for a summer dessert. So take a little break from Olympic coverage to whip up some “Perfect 10 tartlets”. Your household will thank you.

I would do a triple somersault into a vat of the orange sauce I drizzled over these tartlets, but I don’t think it would win me an Olympic medal, unless they create the Food Olympics sometime in the near future (and I learn how to do 3 somersaults in a row). I wish I could give you the recipe for the orange sauce, but I really just sort of threw stuff into a pot. Here’s what I remember doing: cut up an orange and toss it into a small pot over medium heat. Add about a cup of water, a bit of maple syrup, a bit of vanilla…. Taste and adjust as necessary as you simmer it for about 20 minutes (really mash up those orange bits), then let it cool and drizzle it over your tarlet (or drown it as I did) and add some blueberries on top.

Crust ingredients:

  • about 2 cups pecans (raw or roasted, it doesn’t really matter, so long as you don’t add the salt if you use salted nuts)
  • 1.5 tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 tbsp agave or maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt

Toss the pecans into your food processor and pulse, then add the rest of the ingredients. Zoom’em all together and set aside for a sec. Grease either a pie dish with coconut oil or a muffin tin depending on whether you want a tart or tartlets. Scoop and pat the dough into place, then throw it into the freezer while you prepare the filling.

  • 1/2 cup millet
  • 2 cups almond milk
  • 2 cups water
  • 5 cardamom pods (optional if you don’t like the flavour but I think it makes this dessert super special)
  • 1 whole dried vanilla bean (or a dash of vanilla extract if you don’t have any beans)
  • 2 tbsp agave or maple syrup (I’m assuming you can use Stevia or Xyla without problem as well)
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 cup orange juice (about 1 orange; remove zest first)
  • zest from 1 orange
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice

Wash and drain the millet. Throw it into a medium saucepan with the almond milk, water, cardamom pods, vanilla bean and salt. Bring it to a boil, then cover and simmer for about 45 minutes. Remove from heat and let it cool down. In the meantime, mix the vanilla, orange juice, zest and lemon juice together in a small bowl, adding it to the millet. Once the millet mixture is cool enough to handle, fish out the cardamom pods and the vanilla bean, then toss the soon-to-be-custard into a blender (in batches if necessary). Bzzzzzzz and then ladle the custard into your tart shell or tartlets and throw it into the fridge to set. Allow about 2-3 hours to set. My favourite way to serve these tartlets is to top them with macerated oranges and strawberries, a dusting of icing sugar and lemon zest or just on their own.

I couldn’t decide which photo to use, so I decided to put both up – “dug into” and pristine. Which one’s your favourite? Just ignore the fact that both were taken with my iPhone and are kind grainy  😉
Leave a Reply

