Remembrance Scones

When I was younger, I didn’t tend to think much about the war or about my grandfathers’ role in it. They didn’t want to talk about it, I didn’t want to talk about it, so it all just stayed below the surface. Now that I’m older and I’ve lost them both, it’s a hard pill to swallow. I want to know what they went through, what they saw, who they met and befriended, and who they lost. I’ll never know now, and that saddens me. I’m hoping though that by sharing these few words that those of you who are lucky enough to still have friends or family who survived WW2 or any of the wars that followed will screw up your courage and ask them as many questions as you can. Today, on November 11, I’m going to begin researching my family tree (my mother’s side of the family are holocaust survivors) and I will think about all the questions I may never get answers to. I’ll also remember the sacrifice millions of men and women everywhere made so that the world could become a better place, and I’ll think about those who are currently doing so.

I wanted to place a poppy in here somewhere but when I went to take it off my jacket I found it had disappeared, AGAIN. This is my 3rd poppy so far, which reflects my average rate of loss every year. Why, oh why, can’t they transition to a safety-pin poppy so that I won’t keep unintentionally dropping poppies everywhere I go? Rant aside, the flowers at the top of the page are my representation of a remembrance poppy (and a piece of jewelry I’m currently working on), to commemorate the thoughts I’ll have for my grandfathers, pictured sitting top and bottom with my grandmothers, in front of my parents. They were each lucky enough to come back from WW2 in one piece, and for that I am thankful. I just wish I’d been able to talk to them about it.

These red-hued scones represent a little piece of me on this thoughtful day, and I hope you enjoy them. They were inspired by Allyson Kramer‘s Banana Bread Scones. They’ve got no fat and are pretty healthy lil’ scones (unless you slather them with EarthBalance butter, which I fully plan on doing), so hopefully they’ll help you live a nice long life full of love and remembrance for those who have passed before us. If you prefer “regular” (a.k.a. non-gluten-free scones) that are red-hued, then check out my pomegranate scones or these scrumptious scones. I really do love scones, and these are the best ones I’ve made since I transitioned to gluten-free recipes; they’re really flavourful, dense, yet flakey. Give ’em a try!

Here we go:

  • 1 tbsp ground flax mixed with 2 tbsp warm water
  • 3/4 to 1 cup of organic cane sugar or brown sugar (or a combination of the two), depending on how sweet you like your scones. If you use sweetened applesauce, cut it down to about a 1/4 of a cup
  • 1.5 cups unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp xantham gum
  • 1.5 cups sorghum flour
  • 1 cup brown rice flour
  • 3/4 cup coconut flour
  • ~ 1 cup chopped strawberries (fresh or frozen)
  • ~ 1/2 cup dried cranberries

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees F. Lightly grease your baking sheet, lay down some parchment paper, or use a silpat. In a large mixing bowl, mix the flax, sugar, applesauce and vanilla together. Now, in a separate bowl, sift (and this is important! I never used to sift my dry ingredients but since I’ve forced myself to stop being so lazy, the results have spoken for themselves) together the rest of the ingredients except the strawberries and cranberries. Once the dry ingredients are well-mixed, add them to the wet mixture and stir until just combined. Add the strawberries and cranberries, folding them in gently.  Now get in there with your hands and knead the dough gently until you’re able to form a ball. Add a touch of sorghum flour if your mixture is too wet (i.e. sticking to the bowl). Now flatten your ball into a disc about an inch thick on your baking sheet and score it like you would cut a pie. Sprinkle a little extra sugar on top and zip it into your oven. After about 20 minutes you may want to check on it, moving it from the bottom rack to the top rack, but I’ve found the middle cooks well after about 25-30 minutes depending on the thickness of your mega-scone. If you want your scones faster, just make little individual scones. They’ll cook in about 15 minutes. Once you’ve removed the sheet from the oven, let them rest for a few minutes before transferring to a cooling rack… If they last that long anyway – around here they tend to disappear within about 5 minutes of emerging from the oven.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Food Stories says:

    This recipe looks great and I love your food story 🙂

    1. lil' vegan says:

      Thanks CJ! I’m definitely going to make these again, probably with whatever fruit I have on hand. The ginger was a great addition and will “play well with others”.

  2. Nikki says:

    What a lovely story.

Leave a Reply

